Guard Passing: Defending Contact Points

In the past I’ve defended contact points on hips with my elbows and hooks on thighs/knees with hands. The problem with this strategy is it concedes neck contact points.

So, currently thinking of ways to cover and defend my hips and legs with leg and hip movement in order to leave my arms and hands free to hand defend neck grips and establish grips of their own. As to not leave you guys in the dark, one obvious solution is using Combat Base…

Going further with Combat Base, I used to play it exclusively with right leg up, and STILL do but if the guard player plays Butterfly guard with left leg up with intent of sweeping and ankle picking me to my right I defend with the left leg up.

Also, I constantly drive forward with Combat Base threatening a knee cut pass, otherwise I’m just asking to be De La Riva hooked, ankle picked and figured out in general.

Chris Haueter on defending and attacking Combat Base:

Leave a comment