Mindsets: Creativity & The Subconscious In Jiu-Jitsu

The most obvious source of creativity in my Jiu-Jitsu is positions my friends give me trouble with ranging from punked to less than elegant solutions that leave me tired or open to counter-offense.

So yeah, there’s always a two-pronged search going on for survival and elegance.

Next, artistically, I think you also have to pay attention to you’re bodies preferences and the resulting strengths and limitations of such preferences.

Finally, there are subconscious solutions arising where we give our bodies space to explore approaches outside our knowns, as taking in and implementing spoon-fed data is not art. Yes, we all have to be fed before we can feed ourselves through our understanding of Jiu-Jitsu at the level of principles, but at some point we have to leave home and pen our own novel.

Damn, thinking and reading this now, I don’t open up enough on the mat. I believe part of this is me thinking there’s a ‘Way’ when there is none beyond being, breathing, moving, pushing, pulling, probing, watching, feeling, and testing.

Just play. =)

Leave a Reply

